type a power plug and socket

Type A Power plug & socket

  • 2 Pins
  • 15 A
  • Almost Always 100 – 127 V
  • Not Grounded
  • Socket Compatible with Plug Type A
  • Mainly used in United States, United Kingdom, Canada and Mexico

What is Type A Power Plug

When travelling to a foreign country, it is important to know about their electrical outlets. Some countries use Type A plugs, while others use Type B plugs. Type A plugs are common in the United States and most of the rest of the western world. They are usually two flat prongs with the word โ€œliveโ€ on it. They are thinner than those used in most other countries. Type B plugs are wider and have two round prongs labeled โ€œneutralโ€ and โ€œearth.โ€

A Type A Power Plug is one of two standard types of US electrical outlets, found mostly in the United States and Canada. It is by far the most common type of plug worldwide and is the only type of plug used for most appliances sold in the US and Canada.

The Type A power plug is also use in countries like China, Ireland, Japan, Russia, and the United Kingdom. The Type A plug has two flat pins. The top pin is square, and the bottom pin is circular. Type A plugs have three holes for grounding.

Where do Type A power plugs mainly used in?

Type A electrical plugs are mainly used in America, United Kingdom, France, China, South Africa, New Zealand, and others. Type A electrical plugs are widely used in our homes, office buildings, factories, and other locations. The type and size of Type A electrical plugs varies across countries.

Countries using Type A Power Plug

American Samoa, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, British Virgin Islands, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Islands, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Curacao, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, French Polynesia, Guam, Guatemala. Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Jamaica, Japan, Laos, Lebanon, Liberia, Mexico, Micronesia, Montserrat, Myanmar, Nicaragua, Niger, North Korea, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Sint Maarten (Dutch), St. Kitts and Nevis, Suriname, Taiwan, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, United States, U.S. Virgin Islands, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen.